film / tv / politics / social media / lists / web / celeb / pajiba love / misc / about / cbr
film / tv / politics / web / celeb


Why 'Fargo' Won't Win Any Writers Guild Awards This Year

By Vivian Kane | Industry | December 5, 2014 |

By Vivian Kane | Industry | December 5, 2014 |

If there’s anyone out there who actually still believes awards are given to shows and movies based on merit and nothing else, I’d like to meet you, you beautiful, naive little flower. The rest of us know that Hollywood’s awards season is more driven by popularity and more mired in stupidity than a middle school student council election.

For example, we now know that Noah Hawley’s Fargo will win exactly zero Writers Guild of America awards. And why is that? It can’t be because the show wasn’t good enough. Most of us can agree that it was one of the best new shows of the year. No, it’s because FX and the WGA couldn’t agree on the category under which the show should be nominated. According to FX:

The network initially submitted Fargo in the longform category based on the fact that the 10 one-hour scripts - all written by Noah Hawley - tell a single, close-ended story and therefore Fargo is a miniseries. The WGA does not recognize Fargo as a miniseries because Noah Hawley was accorded a ‘Created for Television By’ credit and said that Fargo could only be considered in the drama series category.

Television is a rapidly changing medium, and no one’s expecting all the guilds and academies to catch up immediately. But Netflix and Hulu and FX and the rest of cable aren’t going anywhere, so maybe we can figure out a way to adjust our systems, huh? Because they’ve been around for a while and your refusal to adapt is starting to feel a bit…


Try to keep up, will you, WGA?

12 Celebrities More Deserving of a Cult Than Andrew Keegan | Jennifer Aniston Nonchalantly Discusses Her Dirty Horrible Bosses 2 Necklace