film / tv / politics / social media / lists / web / celeb / pajiba love / misc / about / cbr
film / tv / politics / web / celeb


'Spotlight' Dominates the Independent Spirit Awards

By Genevieve Burgess | Industry | February 28, 2016 |

By Genevieve Burgess | Industry | February 28, 2016 |

Spotlight has never been one of the big, attention grabbing films going into the Oscars. It doesn’t have the press-friendly narrative of The Revenant, it’s not an exciting outsider like The Martian or Mad Max: Fury Road, and it doesn’t have the easy to vote for pedigree of Bridge of Spies. But it has been quietly gaining momentum apparently by simply being an excellent film that people find incredibly compelling. Last night at the Independent Spirit Awards it was the big winner, taking home Best Feature, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Editing, and the Robert Altman Award for the casting director and ensemble cast. Will it also win big tonight? You’ve still got a few hours to change your predictions if you want. As far as acting categories go, Brie Larson has added another statue to her collection, Mya Taylor took home best supporting actress for Tangerine and Beats of No Nation took both male acting awards for Idris Elba and Abraham Attah

Here’s the full list of winners from the Independent Spirit Awards:

Best Feature: Spotlight (Open Road Films)
Producers: Blye Pagon Faust, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin, Michael Sugar
Best Director: Tom McCarthy, Spotlight (Open Road Films)
Best Screenplay: Tom McCarthy, Josh Singer, Spotlight (Open Road Films)
Best First Feature: The Diary of a Teenage Girl (Sony Pictures Classics)
Director: Marielle Heller
Producers: Miranda Bailey, Anne Carey, Bert Hamelinck, Madeline Samit
Best First Screenplay: Emma Donoghue, Room (A24)
John Cassavetes Award (For best feature made under $500,000): Krisha (A24)
Writer/Director/Producer: Trey Edward Shults
Producers: Justin R. Chan, Chase Joliet, Wilson Smith
Best Supporting Female: Mya Taylor,Tangerine (Magnolia Pictures)
Best Supporting Male: Idris Elba, Beasts of No Nation (Bleecker Street/Netflix)
Best Female Lead: Brie Larson, Room (A24)
Best Male Lead: Abraham Attah, Beasts of No Nation (Bleecker Street/Netflix)
Robert Altman Award: Spotlight (Open Road Films)
Director: Tom McCarthy
Casting Directors: Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee
Ensemble Cast: Billy Crudup, Michael Cyril Creighton, Paul Guilfoyle, Neal Huff, Brian d’Arcy James, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Mark Ruffalo, Liev Schreiber, Jamey Sheridan, John Slattery, Stanley Tucci
Best Cinematography: Ed Lachman, Carol (The Weinstein Company)
Best Editing: Tom McArdle, Spotlight (Open Road Films)
Best International Film: Son of Saul (Hungary - Sony Pictures Classics)
Director: László Nemes
Best Documentary: The Look of Silence (Drafthouse Films/Participant Media)
Director: Joshua Oppenheimer
Producer: Signe Byrge Sørensen

Kate McKinnon and Kumail Nanjiani Invite You to an Innocent Glove Lunch | 'Gods of Egypt' Director Blames Critics for Box Office Bomb

Genevieve Burgess is a Features Contributor for Pajiba. You can follow Genevieve Burgess on Twitter.