film / tv / politics / social media / lists / web / celeb / pajiba love / misc / about / cbr
film / tv / politics / web / celeb


The 2010 Sundance Award Winners

By Dustin Rowles | Industry | January 31, 2010 |

By Dustin Rowles | Industry | January 31, 2010 |

The 2010 Sundance Awards were also announced last night, which will give you some keen insight to a lot of movies you’ve never heard of and likely never will. In fact, I’ve made it to Sundance twice now, and on both occasions, I watched something like 20 films — usually the ones with the biggest buzz — only to see the list of award winners and say, “What? I’ve never even heard of this movie.” And, indeed, despite following Sundance fairly close this year, I’m reading many of the titles below for the first time.

In other words, the Sundance Grand Jury winners mean almost nothing, though the audience award winners often are the ones that you’ll be hearing about over the next few months or so. For evidence of that, just check out the 2008 Award winners, which has only a few titles you may recognize (Frozen River, Wackness, Man on Wire) and probably even fewer that you’ve actually seen.

That said, I have heard many good things about this year’s audience award winner, Josh Radnor’s (“How I Met Your Mother,”) HappyThankYouMorePlease, though only one of the below titles have actually been sold so far, Winter’s Bone (HappyThankYouMorePlease has sold foreign distribution rights).


Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Winter’s Bone, directed by Debra Granik

Grand Jury Prize, Documentary:
Restrepo, directed by Tim Hetherington & Sebastian Junger

World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Animal Kingdom, directed by David Michôd

World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary:
The Red Chapel (Det Røde Kapel), directed by Mads Brügger

The Best of NEXT:
Homewrecker, directed by Todd Barnes & Brad Barnes

Special Jury Prize, Documentary:
GasLand, directed by Josh Fox

Special Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Sympathy for Delicious, directed by Mark Ruffalo

World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Documentary:
Enemies of the People, directed by Rob Lemkin & Thet Sambath

Excellence in Cinematography, Dramatic:
Zak Mulligan for Obselidia

Excellence in Cinematography, Documentary:
Kirsten Johnson & Laura Poitras for The Oath

Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award:
Debra Granik & Anne Rosellini for Winter’s Bone

Excellence in Directing, Dramatic:
Eric Mendelsohn for 3 Backyards

Excellence in Directing, Documentary:
Leon Gast for Smash His Camera

Excellence in Editing, Documentary:
Penelope Falk for Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work

The Alfred P. Sloan prize for a feature film with science as a theme, or featuring a scientist, engineer, or mathematician main character, was awarded to Obselidia, directed by Diane Bell, at this year’s Sundance.


Audience Award, Dramatic:
HappyThankYouMorePlease, directed by Josh Radnor

Audience Award, Documentary:
Waiting for Superman, directed by Davis Guggenheim

World Cinema Audience Award, Dramatic:
Contracorriente (Undertow), directed by Javier Fuentes-Leõn

World Cinema Audience Award, Documentary:
Wasteland, directed by Lucy Walker

The Director's Guide Awards 2010 | Pajiba After Dark 1/31/10

Dustin is the founder and co-owner of Pajiba. You may email him here, follow him on Twitter, or listen to his weekly TV podcast, Podjiba.