business vision articles new vision business opportunities finance vision deposit money vision making art loan vision deposits make vision your home good income vision outcome issue medicine vision drugs market vision money trends self vision roof repairing market vision online secure vision skin tools wedding vision jewellery newspaper vision for magazine geo vision places business vision design Car vision and Jips production vision business ladies vision cosmetics sector sport vision and fat burn vat vision insurance price fitness vision program furniture vision at home which vision insurance firms new vision devoloping technology healthy vision nutrition dress vision up company vision income insurance vision and life dream vision home create vision new business individual vision loan form cooking vision ingredients which vision firms is good choosing vision most efficient business comment vision on goods technology vision business secret vision of business company vision redirects credits vision in business guide vision for business cheap vision insurance tips selling vision abroad protein vision diets improve vision your home security vision importance

lostend3.jpg

Get Back to Where You Once Belonged

“Lost: The Beginning of the End” (S4/E1) Recap / Daniel Carlson

TV Reviews | February 4, 2008 | Comments (74)


“It feels like a hundred years ago that we came out here,” Jack says toward the end of the fourth-season premiere of “Lost,” and damn if he ain’t telling the truth. One of the admittedly many quirks of the series has been its gradual progression through an approximation of real time in the fictional universe while often dragging for ages through the seasons. The first episode of the new season, “The Beginning of the End,” takes place on the 93rd day of the survivors’ time on the island, but the pilot episode aired on Sept. 22, 2004 — three months doled out over the run of Bush’s second term. And even though “Lost” has had some missteps along the journey, including most of the repetitive and downright sleep-inducing second season, the show has recently managed to recapture most of the momentum and fun and sheer watchability of its early days. When “Lost” really fires on all cylinders, it works as a relatable drama, compelling mystery, and hypnotic puzzle all at once; basically, it’s the best pop TV show in years, and “Beginning of the End” was a solid episode with enough engaging moments to reassure viewers that there is an end in sight, and it’s gonna be big.

Last season’s finale, “Through the Looking Glass,” pretty much tipped the series’ storytelling universe on its ear by not using one of the flashbacks featured in every episode but instead using a flashforward to a future after Jack et al. had been rescued from Hell Island by, one assumes, the crew of the unseen but offshore tanker everybody was trying to radio for help at the end of last season. And “Beginning of the End” starts the only way it can: With another flashforward, this one showing a relatively dapper Jack in L.A. watching a car chase on TV. The driver turns out to be Hurley, who leads a pack of police cruisers on a dash through town before crashing and attempting to flee. All kinds of questions are running through my head at this point — is the same future as the last one, is it earlier/later in the future, etc. — but then Hurley gets himself arrested and starts howling, “Don’t you know who I am? I’m one of the Oceanic Six! I’m one of the Oceanic Six!” And this is when I just can’t help but think: I love this show. “Lost” just threw out another puzzle piece, and despite the (rightful) criticisms leveled against some of its expositional habits, it’s great at using dialogue in moments like this to suddenly blast open whole new unexplored story areas that you know will be important, but that for now remain something at which you can only guess. So right now it looks like only six people make it home, and then they wind up going back to maybe rescue everyone else. Theories?

After being interrogated by Ana Lucia’s partner, Hurley’s flashforward ends and the timeline reverts to the present. Back on the island, Kate and Jack and Sawyer and everyone else is still sweaty and unkempt and in various states of emotional and physical disrepair. Jack starts rounding everybody up and herding them toward the beach, where they’re set to be picked up by the as yet unseen members of the ship. (And yes, that voice on the other end of the phone is totally Fisher Stevens.) Down on the shore, Hurley and Bernard exchange some really awkward pleasantries, after which Hurley does a slow-mo run down the beach that’s so off-the-charts, unintentional hilarity-wise, that I almost passed out. Of course, my laughter died when the story took a hard left from Hurley’s Moment of Relative Peace to Hurley’s Moment of Deep Anguish when Desmond and his crew arrive on shore with the news that Charlie’s dead. Hurley takes this moment to grow a spine, chucking Sawyer’s radio into the ocean when Sawyer attempts to contact Jack, which Sayid says would alert the evil ship people in a bad way. Back in the jungle (again), after shipping everyone off to the beach, Jack teams up with Rousseau and Ben — who’s led around on a leash — to track the surprisingly non-dead Naomi, who didn’t let a knife in the back stop her from crawling off into the trees.

Hurley’s next couple flashforwards (flashes forward?): Safely confined in the nuthouse, Hurley seems content to wear a bathrobe and play Connect Four with other patients, which seems like a pretty nice vacation. But then he gets a visitor who sends him yelling across the room. Matthew Abaddon announces himself as an attorney for Oceanic, but tips his hand when he freaks out Hurley and everyone else by asking, “Are they still alive?” This is another great, chilling little moment that hints at what (depending on your perspective) will happen or has already happened, and how that will affect what will happen even further down the road. Later on, Hurley’s outside when he sees the vision that made him freak out back at the beginning of the episode: Charlie, acting as normal as ever. Hurley says, “You’re dead,” to which Charlie responds, “Yeah, but I’m still here.” He pushes Hurley to admit that “they” still need him, but before long Hurley closes his eyes and wishes Charlie away.

Back on the island, the main action follows three groups of castaways: Jack, Rousseau, and Ben, who are traipsing through the jungle on what turns out to be a false trail laid down by the wounded Naomi; Kate, who’s on the right trail and eventually finds a badly damaged and dying Naomi, who manages to fix the satellite phone and lying about the nature of her injury before croaking; and Hurley, Sawyer, Sayid, Jin, and probably a couple other people, who are on their way to meet up with everyone else. Sawyer, displaying the Tim Riggins kind of sensitive bad boy vibe that he’s really good at, approaches Hurley — whom he calls Hugo out of respect — and tries to make nice in the wake of Charlie’s death, but Hurley blows him off, so Sawyer leaves him be and catches up to the rest of the group. This is when “Lost” takes another hard left and gets really creepy, reaffirming that the show, which was already pretty dark, is going to get downright eerie from now on.

Hurley, lost in the jungle and just beginning to realize that this is a bad thing, hustles to catch up to Sawyer et al., only to come across Jacob’s Ghost Cabin. Hurley, having never seen a horror film and apparently struck with a momentary amnesia that’s blacked out the three increasingly disturbing months he’s spent on the island, approaches the cabin to look inside, where he sees an old man in a suit sitting in a rocking chair. I’m pretty sure it’s Jack’s dad, whose corpse has been missing since the crash, but before you can get a good look at it, someone else appears in the window and scares Hurley (and, let’s face it, me). Hurley turns and bolts, only to somehow once more run into the cabin, which can apparently move around willy-nilly like the Black Fortress of Krull. He shrieks, closes his eyes, and wishes the thing away, at which point John Locke reappears, helps him up and escorts him on his way.

The various search/evacuation parties all eventually meet up at the same spot in the jungle, which is another one of those “Lost” quirks that’s necessary to overlook in order to have a good time. But everyone finds everyone else, at which point Jack and Locke have another speech-off to see who gets control of the castaways’ collective fates, with Jack saying they should go with the ship and Locke saying that the ship is bad mojo. Hurley speaks up and sides with Locke, reasoning that Charlie’s dying act of warning must mean that the people on the boat are not who they say they are, or at any rate aren’t who the castaways believe them to be. The group splits up, with Hurley, Sawyer, Claire, Rousseau, Ben, Alex, Alex’s boyfriend, and various extras siding with Locke, while Kate, Rose, Bernard, and some other folks go with Jack. A storm breaks, the rain falling down as if washing away the relationships that had built up while the group splinters again. It’s also great that, for the thousandth time, the conflict is basically back down to Jack and Locke, who have always battled for emotional control of the castaways with the slick mind games usually reserved for political battles. It’s not that Locke wants to harm them; he legitimately believes he can and will do the group good, and good vs. evil isn’t nearly as interesting as misguided good vs. misguided good. Jack and Locke are on the same team, but will never realize it, and that makes their struggle an epic one.

The final flashforward sees Jack visiting Hurley at the nuthouse, where they play an awkward game of horse. Jack says while they play, “I’m thinking of growing a beard,” and while on one level it’s just a moderately dumb bit of exposition meant to remind people that this future is before the one we saw in the third season finale, it works on a whole other level by cementing the future(s) as real. “Through the Looking Glass” was the first episode to use the future visions, and for all its style and power, it still could have been written off as a one-time gimmick meant to hint at a possible outcome of the events on the island. But by continuing to utilize the glimpses of the future, the writers and producers are saying that the future they’re showing for these characters is a real one, and will matter every bit in the coming months and years to the story. Like it or not, everything here is really happening.

Anyway: Jack, who’s apparently gotten really creepy since escaping, has a pretty blunt talk with Hurley. Hurley accuses Jack of just checking in on him to see he’s going to “tell,” to which Jack responds, “Are you?” The nature of what happened, and what the Oceanic Six are keeping secret, is of course still in the dark, but it’s clearly eating Hurley up from the inside just as we know it eventually will do to Jack, who in “Looking Glass” was an unshaven bundle of nerves all keen on going back to the island. But that was then, and later, and this is now, and before. Hurley looks at Jack and says, “I’m sorry I went with Locke. … I don’t think we did the right thing, Jack. I think it wants us to come back.” Jack yells, “We’re never going back!” At which point Hurley, as you knew he would, says, “Never say never.” The scene is quick, weird, and ominous: In other words, right in the wheelhouse.

The show’s ending cliffhanger — because every episode must end on one — features a man parachuting out of a helicopter and landing near Jack and Kate, who’ve been reminiscing by the creepy wreckage of the fuselage. The man, presumably with the rescue ship, is played by Jeremy Davies, which is shorthand that he will most likely be up to no good: Whether it’s freeing the wrong German in Saving Private Ryan or going crazy in Solaris (or Rescue Dawn, or Helter Skelter, for goodness’ sake), Davies is never helpful. I don’t know what’s gonna happen, but I know it’ll be bad. And that’s what “Lost” is bravely doing now by broadening the story, sketching a rough outline for an ending, and using the flashforwards: It’s no longer building on the survivors’ past traumas as a way to illustrate their current plights, but showing how things will end up for some of them and then milking that suspense for all it’s worth. We don’t have to wonder if Hurley’s siding with Locke will go poorly; years later, he has himself committed and begins to cry just thinking about what he did. “Lost” has now swung around on itself completely. Instead of going forward by looking at the past, it’s coming to an end by looking at the future. And I know I’ll be there for every step.

Daniel Carlson is the managing editor of Pajiba and a low-level employee at a Hollywood industry magazine. You can visit his blog, Slowly Going Bald.


Pajiba Busted Tour 2008 | Pajiba Love 02/04/08



Comments

What's the point of a recap like this? If you haven't seen the episode, you won't want to read a spoiler, and if you have...don't you already know all this? Seems like a lot of work for...I don't know what.

Posted by: AM at February 4, 2008 2:36 PM

great recap dan.
i also picked up on those ominous little pieces of dialogue. i thought the season premiere was definitely a great throw back to the mysteriousness of the first season...and once again, in true lost fashion, the writers apparently had no problems adding a million more questions to the mix.

i'm dying to know who is in that coffin from the last episode of last season.

and i'm always on team locke.

Posted by: citizen_cris at February 4, 2008 2:45 PM

Great review Dan. Last summer I cursed the idea of waiting until January to get my Lost fix, but now I'm glad to have on oasis in the wasteland of the writer-less TV landscape.

Posted by: X at February 4, 2008 2:47 PM

good vs. evil isn't nearly as interesting as misguided good vs. misguided good. Jack and Locke are on the same team, but will never realize it, and that makes their struggle an epic one.

This is an aspect of this drama that I've always felt, but never been able to express. You put your finger right on it, and beautifully.

Man I love Lost. I'm actually praying to actual God for the writers' strike to end SOON.

Posted by: Jerce at February 4, 2008 2:48 PM

Grrr...I really need to catch up and rent the last few season 3 dvds.

I did read some hopeful rumors today about a possible end to the strike, but I don't want to get my hopes up that my beloved 30 Rock and The Office is coming back.

Posted by: Julie at February 4, 2008 2:53 PM

Great recap, but it's Sayid, not Said.

Posted by: Bonasi at February 4, 2008 2:54 PM

A month ago I finished watching the 3rd season on DVD and I cannot wait until this hits Netflix.

As for theories, this is my favorite:
http://mirrormattermoon.blogspot.com/

Posted by: Agent Scully at February 4, 2008 2:59 PM

I keep missing Lost...I need to start buying up the seasons and watching them all. I've always been fascinated by the story and the "could be great" plot. However, the reason I wanted to comment this time was for...

...only to somehow once more run into the cabin, which can apparently move around willy-nilly like the Black Fortress of Krull.

Awesome, awesome, awesome reference to one of the greatest fantasy b-movies. That made my day.

Posted by: Shadows of Dakaron at February 4, 2008 2:59 PM

I am sad to say that the entire review was lost on me... I mean, it was a great review, but I just haven't been able to commit to any of these shows: 24, Lost, Heroes, uh... etc...

Not that I haven't any interest, but when you've got a continuing story - one that insists on having seen previous episodes, I think it's almost easier to rent a couple seasons at the same time and spend a weekend with the curtains drawn.

I'm sure these shows kick ass, but with all the twists and turns and shit, I'd be screwed to miss an episode. Kinda like I felt when the X-Files started to suck - miss an episode and suddenly you're boned.

I likes my entertainment in bite-sized chunks. I also like mixing grapefruit juice and vodka. Coinsidence? Maybe...

Posted by: Skittimus Maximus at February 4, 2008 3:09 PM

Lost is slowly driving me mad - but I suppose that's why I like it.

Posted by: Cindy at February 4, 2008 3:10 PM

The Hurley getting separated from the group sequence had me covering my eyes like I was watching a horror movie. It had been a long time since Lost had scared me like that.

This is a great recap, especially since I can't get enough of Lost discussion. The thought of this season getting cut in half almost literally pains me.

Posted by: katy at February 4, 2008 3:25 PM

I adore this show. I just talked to friend last night for an hour about it. There's a well of theories to talk about. I just love it. The thing I want to know most about:the four-toed statues (Sayid spots them in the season 2 finale).

Posted by: kelsy at February 4, 2008 3:30 PM

I just can't keep caring about this show. Too much suspense, not enough substance.

Nitpicky complaint about this episode: When Locke had thrown the knife into Naomi's back (a truly psychotic act, I'd say; we assume he's getting his info from Walt, but unless Walt told him she was a serial killer who eats puppies, Locke has gone insane) Jack didn't bother to check for life signs? Let alone try to save her? Thanks loads, Doc!

Posted by: Todd at February 4, 2008 3:32 PM

I still love Lost, even though it confuses more me with every episode. I've become resigned to not knowing the answers to everything. That's cool. The big picture I've taken from it so far is nobody is all good and nobody is all evil. When it started out, you were convinced that Sawyer was bad, hot doctor was good, Kate was good, Charlie was bad. Now it's kinda swung the other way. Kate and hot doctor are looking kinda crazy bad while Sawyer is turning into a decent person. And Charlie sacrificed himself, which I didn't see coming.

A friend gave me this link for Lost fans, I haven't looked at it at length, but I assume it's full of theories, spoilers, etc. - http://losteastereggs.blogspot.com/

Posted by: Slash at February 4, 2008 3:40 PM

I meant "confuses me more" on previous post. Sorry.

And I agree with Todd's comment. I thought that was kinda weird too, unless we're to assume that checking of vitals and whatnot was done off-camera.

Posted by: Slash at February 4, 2008 3:43 PM

great recap! i heart lost! but can they give desmond some more lines, please? i kept waiting for him to say something.

Posted by: kelley at February 4, 2008 3:54 PM

I watched the first season with my mom, and then lost interest during season 2. I ended up watching the premiere on Thurs and it was grand! I got back in, clearly there are holes that i'm missing in the story. But it was nice to come back in after awhile and see some progression. My mom and I have already made a deal rent all the seasons. She wants to re-watch it all to catch some more clues.

Posted by: Jax at February 4, 2008 4:01 PM

It wasn't just Sawyer that referred to Hurley as Hugo; everyone referred to him as "Hugo," and it seemed as though -- with the constant repetition of that name -- that some point was being made. Any guesses?

Posted by: Dustin at February 4, 2008 4:02 PM

After last week, it is clear that any discussion or viewing of Lost requires constant reminders, I'm talking 3 or 4 every 5 minutes, about ABC's new series Eli Stone.

So, to maintain this, uh, tradition, here goes...

Eli Stone
Is it possible to change life midstream and get back to who you are at your core? From Greg Berlanti (Brothers & Sisters, Dirty Sexy Money, Everwood) and Marc Guggenheim (Brothers & Sisters, Law & Order, The Practice) comes a story about a lawyer, Eli Stone, who finds himself at a crossroads between the man he has become and the man he wants to be ... even if that means being a prophet. Eli Stone

Driven by ambition, Eli Stone (Jonny Lee Miller, The Flying Scotsman) has built a successful career at a top San Francisco law firm in representing the biggest and richest corporations where "screwing over the little guy" is common practice. Eli Stone

I'd really appreciate if, say, every 2nd or 3rd person who posts a comment in this thread threw in a little discussion about Eli Stone. It's cleary apropriate.

Eli Stone.

Thx.

Posted by: ajax19 at February 4, 2008 4:04 PM

Lost is coming back at the perfect time - people are getting sick of reruns and reality TV - and its got us foaming at the mouth for the next episode. I can't wait for Thursday!

Oh, and only on Pajiba would one find a reference to Krull in the middle of a Lost review. I love that movie so much Lissa has been on my future baby name list for years. Don't laugh.

Posted by: Kolby at February 4, 2008 4:07 PM

I think the fact that everyone starts calling him Hugo is recognition for the fact that he such a hero in the Season 3 finale. Hurley's the chubby misfit, Hugo's the logical, proactive uniter who saved Jin, Bernard, and Sayid.

To Dan's point, it definitely was Christian Shepherd in Jacob's chair and I think it might have been Mikhail's eye. That mofo never seems to die.

As for Jack not checking Naomi's vital signs, I think if he had, she would have had no pulse or heartbeat. She probably was dead for a time but it seems that the island can bring anything back to life that it wants (e.g. Locke).

Posted by: Siddhartha at February 4, 2008 4:11 PM

Good review, that sums up my thoughts pretty exactly(wow, I just reread that sentence, and it's definitely poor grammar).
Creepy side note, plug in Jeremy Davies in Wikipedia, and you get two options:
Jeremy Davies: Actor
Jeremy Davies: Exorcist!

WTF!

Posted by: the cox at February 4, 2008 4:15 PM

I don't know, Dustin, I've heard him called Hugo before. In fact, I think Locke has always referred to him as that. I didn't read anything into it, but now I am starting to. Thanks! As if there weren't already 358 things I have to figure out!

Posted by: Kolby at February 4, 2008 4:15 PM

At first glance (in the cabin scene), it looked like Christian Shepherd - ALIVE - and then, after a second, it looked like a shriveled-up corpse. Anyone else see that??

I thought the eyes were Locke's!

Posted by: Kolby at February 4, 2008 4:18 PM

Also, I think that the black smoke monster is Jacob and vice versa. And the black smoke monster can manifest itself as any dead body on the island.

So far, it's appeared as Christian Shepherd (who was in the coffin on Oceanic 815), as Yemi (Eko's brother whose dead body was in a plane crashed on the island), as a horse (it showed up in one of Kate's episodes, there were apparently horses on the island in addition to polar bears, etc.) It also appeared as Walt to Locke which makes me think that Walt is dead.

My farfetched prediction based on nothing: Walt reappears over the course of the season. Walt accompanies Jack, Kate, and Hurley off the island. However, the real Walt is actually dead and it's just the black smoke monster(BSM) imitating Walt. Once BSM/Walt is on the mainland, it takes on the shape of Charlie to haunt Hurley, and the shape of Jack's dad to haunt Jack (remember in the SSN 3 finale when he refers to his dad being upstairs in the hospital?). BSM does this to lure everyone back to the island.

Posted by: Siddhartha at February 4, 2008 4:19 PM

Don't know if I can post links in this post but here goes. This is from a good Lost site. It clearly shows that it was Christian Shepherd in the chair and it was probably Locke's eye.

http://lost.cubit.net/images/index/covers/4x01_cabinCloserLook.jpg

Posted by: Siddhartha at February 4, 2008 4:24 PM

I loved this episode and how it seems to set it up for a greats ason (assuming the 2nd half gets written).

Posted by: Brian at February 4, 2008 4:38 PM

That should say great season (I sometimes type as if Justin Tuck just ran me over)

Posted by: Brian at February 4, 2008 4:43 PM

I love this show.

(also, great Krull reference)

Posted by: Patrick C at February 4, 2008 4:44 PM

Siddhartha, I think you might be on to something with the connection between Jacob and the smoke monster...I never thought about that before.

As for it being Locke's eye, I thought so which would explain why he found Hurley so quickly afterwards. It looked like Christian Shepherd in the chair...after all, his body DID disappear and was never recovered.

Katy, I totally agree with you. I was covering my eyes too when Hurley got lost and found the cabin. I love when Lost does that to me.

Posted by: citizen_cris at February 4, 2008 5:04 PM

That mirror matter moon theory is mind-blowing!

I'm putting my chips there until I run across something better (if there is anything better LOL).

In case you missed it

http://mirrormattermoon.blogspot.com/

I could even see the basic idea explained in 2 minutes on the show.

Posted by: Michael Cavanagh at February 4, 2008 5:10 PM

I too love the Krull reference. As a kid, the Krull board game was my favorite. Just for the record, though, the Black Fortress does not move around "willy-nilly" as Jacob's cabin does. It has a prescribed schedule that transports it each day at dawn to a particular location. Yes, I'm a nerd. Hurley's experience with Jacob's cabin made me think of the Blair Witch Project.


Anyway, forgive the long post, but I'm eager for LOST fan discussion. Here are my musings on the premiere...

SPOILERS

Overall, I found the island events a little too exposition-heavy. There is very little going on that moves the plot forward (Did we really need that whole Naomi she's-dead/she-isn't-dead business?), but most of the scenes were necessary (e.g., obligatory Charlie mourning) and thus forgiven.

At first "Oceanic Six" seemed like a rather ominous, limiting statement, but considering:

1) how many of our main characters at this point weren't on the plane (Desmond, Ben, Danielle, and
Juliet in particular),

2) it is already confirmed that some of them were left behind on the island, for better (Bernard and Rose might prefer to be there, as might Locke) or worse,

3) we really only have a dozen main characters in the first place, AND

4) it is highly possible that Oceanic passengers left the island and were able to escape the publicity (consider Kate, for example, who as a fugitive would prefer people's presuming her dead),

it's not as much of a death sentence as I initially thought. In fact, six public survivors from the flight is rather limiting in the other direction in terms of freedom to kill off characters.

This does beg the question: if the person in the
coffin was an Oceanic passenger, is he/she one of the "six" that has already been killed off in the future? My suspects for the coffin are Ben, Locke, and Michael, because of the derisive way in that Kate dismisses the idea of her attending the wake.

My guess for the Six right now:
1) Jack (confirmed)
2) Hurley (confirmed)
3) Sun
4) Jin
5) Sayid (theoretically earning his happy ending with his love, although I could see Sayid sacrificing himself for the greater good at anytime)
6) Claire (Aaron is a freebie - technically not born before the flight)

5 & 6 are a complete crapshoot. They could be Michael, Sawyer, Walt, that flight attendant who was brainwashed...

My main question at the moment is - given that Jack is wrong and Locke is right about the intent of the "rescuers" - what's going to happen to Hurley's group that makes him wish that he had gone with Jack? I can only assume Jeremy Davies character's cohorts are going to converge on the barracks and wreak havoc, but there seems to be no reason for Hurley to second-guess that. He made the decision that was correct based on the available information.

END SPOILERS

Posted by: Darth Corleone at February 4, 2008 5:23 PM

Good episode..tough at the beginning I thought it was kind of slow, since Hurley's visit to Jacob's Cabin the episode took an awesome turn. Let's hope it remains like that for the rest of the season.
Great Krull reference by the way.

Posted by: Radlum at February 4, 2008 5:28 PM

Darth Corleone...THERE WAS A BOARD GAME!?!?!? Sob....I've missed out on so much. I can't believe I didn't know this, and didn't already own three copies of it. I'm gonna have to go hit up ebay now.

Posted by: Shadows of Dakaron at February 4, 2008 5:31 PM

And one more thing...Jack is probably the most frustratingly inconsistent character on the show. For a "man of science" - as the episode title called him so long ago - he sure does fly off the handle easily and do very irrational things.

Shooting Locke in cold blood at that juncture simply did not seem warranted to me. It's very similar to the time that he insisted on not pressing the button on that one very specific iteration, when it was obvious (as Sayid pointed out) that the debate could be deferred until they knew more about the machine.

Posted by: Darth Corleone at February 4, 2008 5:32 PM

Shadows of Dakaron>> Come over to my house. I'll play it with you. There's nothing quite like rolling that die with the glaive on it after you accuse someone else of being a changeling! :- )

Posted by: Darth Corleone at February 4, 2008 5:34 PM

I love me some LOST talk. It's been awhile.

To your point, Darth, I have a feeling that what Hurley meant by being 'wrong' in leaving with Locke was that he was morally wrong. As in, he should have stayed by Jack's side to fight whatever was coming instead of essentially running and hiding with Locke.

Posted by: Siddhartha at February 4, 2008 5:34 PM

Siddharta>> I did not see the decision as a case of morality, though. It was exactly as Sawyer put it: one of self-preservation. Jack was not trying to convince them not to "run and hide" with Locke. He was trying to convince them to stay because he stubbornly thought that meant rescue.

After all that they have seen on this crazy island, an "ambassador" to meet Naomi's crew that hides their numbers is cautious but more than warranted. If Jeremy Davies and Naomi did have 815's survivors' best interests at heart, Jack could always go to the barracks and retrieve them. Jack is not thinking rationally in the least.

Posted by: Darth Corleone at February 4, 2008 5:40 PM

Darth -

To your last point, I agree with you that Jack is incredibly frustrating as a main protagonist but shooting Locke in the face would have been one of the most rational things he could have done.

Locke, up to that point, had done everything humanly possible to keep Jack from getting off the island. He got them caught up in the hatch stuff, he blew up the submarine, he Bill the Butcher'd Naomi. It was obvious that he would not let up in sabotaging their escape (even though he could stay on the island if he wanted).

What's definitely not rational is Jack's decision to let Ben, the master manipulator, go with Locke, who could be manipulated by a 2yr old.

Posted by: Siddhartha at February 4, 2008 5:42 PM

Oh yeah, Locke also blew up Mikhail's shack with all the communication devices.

Posted by: Siddhartha at February 4, 2008 5:44 PM

Darth -

I saw your response at 5:40. I wasn't explaining myself correctly. Morality wasn't the right word.

I agree with the idea of not exposing the Lostaway's numbers right off the bat to the freighter folks.

What I was trying to convey was that when Hurley says "I shouldn't have gone with Locke" to Jack, he meant:

"I knew you were wrong, Jack, but I should have stuck by you as a friend no matter the consequences."

and not

"I should have gone with you, Jack, because it turned out you were right about rescue."

Posted by: Siddhartha at February 4, 2008 5:48 PM

Siddhartha>> Yes, I see what you are saying. I just don't think that at point cold-blooded murder could make that much of a difference. The satellite phone call was made, and these people that Jack thinks are their saviors are very aware of their presence. I suppose Locke could have still gone to some effort to destroy the rescuer's ship, but at that moment Locke was not arguing that they hide on the basis of stopping rescue. He was arguing that they hide because the rescuers were not to be trusted.

I suppose you could say that Jack's stubbornness is one of his defining characteristics and a tragic flaw, but given that he has made many rational leadership decisions, I find it difficult to reconcile those two sides of his personality. And, of course, I would think that shooting someone in cold blood would give him at least a few qualms with respect to the Hippocratic Oath.

And, yes, I see your distinction about friendship. He is certainly a closer friend to Jack than Locke. I just did not think - based on the information we know now - that was a moment that attached any measure of significance to their friendship given what Hurley knew at that moment.

Posted by: Darth Corleone at February 4, 2008 6:04 PM

I was getting pretty frustrated with this show last season, realizing there were about 957 different mysteries that were never going to be resolved. Then I read this interview with JJ Abrams where he talked about this box with a big ? printed on it that he's owned for decades. He's never opened and says he never will, because the mystery of what's inside is far more tantalizing than whatever the reality is. And I realized: The point of the show is not the answers, it's the questions. Just sit back and enjoy the ride, because if you're waiting for it all to be tied up in a neat little bow, you're going to be really disappointed.

Posted by: june at February 4, 2008 6:14 PM

Quick question regarding the season opener about one thing that was bothering me. After Hurley collapses in the jungle and is awakened by Locke, Locke states that he knows about Charlie's message, and that they have to go warn everyone about the boat-people not being who they thought they were. Now, Locke wasn't present when Desmond was coming to shore, and there were no radio transmissions regarding Charlie's last message, so how the heck did Locke learn this? This one little comment ate at me the rest of the episode, and I hope there is a crazy-Lostish reason for Lock knowing this rather than the writers made a boo-boo. Thanks!

Posted by: Harley at February 4, 2008 6:15 PM

Hey Harley -

I'm assuming from the way that scene was shot that Hurley had just finished catching Locke up on everything (the beach stuff, Charlie, etc.) as we rejoined them.

Posted by: Siddhartha at February 4, 2008 6:18 PM

Lost is like fucking forever without ever reaching orgasm.

I didn't watch a lot of the second season, because it bored me to death and now I started with the 3rd season again and have no clue what's going on.

Posted by: zerocomplex at February 4, 2008 6:23 PM

In regards to Sawyer calling Hurley - Hugo. I assumed he was calling him Hugo because near the end of Season 3 he lost the ping pong game/bet against Hurley and his punishment for losing the game was that he wasn't allowed to use any nicknames for people for a week (or maybe it was two weeks?).

And despite the 8 months since Season 3, it hasn't been a week yet in Lost "time". :)

Posted by: Elizabeth at February 4, 2008 6:25 PM

Ah, I guess that would make sense. I only watched the premiere once so far, and for some reason, I was under the impression that the conversation between Locke and Hurley happened immediately after Locke caught up with Hurley. I guess that explains it.

Posted by: Harley at February 4, 2008 6:25 PM

I was also wondering about an Eli Stone review...there's a lot to make fun of!

I'll get around to Lost someday...but there's so many discs of The Wire for me to wade through still...

Posted by: vinniedelpino at February 4, 2008 6:45 PM

Not Locke's eye in the cabin: wrong colour. Plus the screen grab shows some face too, and it's defo not our favorite/least favorite knife-wielding, ex-paralized, nature-touchy maniac.

I love going to TWoP afterwards and chewing through the story in the Lost forum. Someone always catches something I missed, and complaining bitterly about how much the writers toy with us/have their heads up their asses makes suffering through the bad parts so much easier.

Posted by: Lauren at February 4, 2008 7:50 PM

Excellent article. kudos. Nice to see people enjoying the show & letting it unfold rather than assaulting it for not moving quickly enough for the attention-challenged.

Posted by: Dude Manbro at February 4, 2008 8:02 PM

I'm think the eye in Jacob's cabin belonged to Mikhail (eye-patch dude).

I'm also leaning more and more toward time-travel being a major factor in the Lost story. Desmond has clearly traveled. I think time-travel plays into why the island can't be clearly seen or found by anyone, and the mystery trips by Juliet and Michael and Walt. There must be a *magic spot* where entrances/exits can be made.

I'm wondering if the Oceanic 6 end up dead - but somehow can time-travel? Depending upon who they are (aside from Hurley, Kate and Jack), maybe the link is that they all have seen visions of dead people?

I know - I have to shut my head up.

Posted by: Cindy at February 4, 2008 9:04 PM

I think that the remaining members of the Oceanic Six are Sun, Jin, & Juliet because these are the three who have most wanted to get off the island. The Korean couple to have their miracle baby, Juliet to see her sister and nephew. Locke, Sawyer, Rose & Bernard, Clare, et al really don't have much to go back to. Alex & Karl should get off but probably won't; I think that the boy is going to die this season and Alex will stay with her mom, the "crazy" French lady.

Not being a Hurley fan, I was disappointed by the episode. Hasn't that fat hippie fuck lost weight yet?? I would almost rather have Charlie back, at least he was cute. I know Hugo's a key player in the ongoing endless mystery but a little bit of him goes a long way.

Wondering if Kate's husband in the future is that Egyptian-looking guy from the Dharma Project. It's been suggested on Lostpedia and DarkUFO's site that he's somebody wealthy or otherwise able to make the murder charges against her disappear.

Posted by: Matt at February 4, 2008 9:11 PM

Skittimus, I know exactly what you mean. I've seen a few episodes of Lost, and I can believe it's a great show, but I can't get with the fact that you have to be so...involved to watch it.

Meaning if you skip an episode, you're screwed because there were about 5 major plot points you missed out on. I don't want to have to be that devoted to a show. That's one of the things that turned me off to Ugly Betty & Desperate Housewives (although I hated the latter before it started), with the sex changes and hurricanes and people getting deported, and before I know it, I'm tired just trying to figure it all out.

Trying not to be hypocritical because I know there are some interesting alternatives like Cavemen, or the New Adventures of Old Christine and Two & a Half Men, all of which can cause convulsions and hysteria. I guess I'm trying to find a happy medium.

Posted by: Brie at February 4, 2008 11:08 PM

Darth Corleone Since she appears with Jack at the end of season 3, wouldn't Kate be one of the six? Jack was talking to her about the Golden Pass (ticket? or is that just Wonka?) during the last season finale.

Posted by: Brian at February 4, 2008 11:24 PM

zerocomplex: you nailed it and it's worth repeating: "Lost is like fucking forever without reaching orgasm."

Which is exactly why I stopped watching.

From the review:

"Beginning of the End" was a solid episode with enough engaging moments to reassure viewers that there is an end in sight, and it's gonna be big.

I truly think it's sweet that anyone still believes this. But it's just going to be more and more and more and more thrusting and thrusting and thrusting and thrusting and you might think maybe if you just concentrated harder, or NO maybe that's the problem! Maybe you should RELAX more and you'll get there. No, now damn, everything's dry. Ok now it's just boring thrusting. Now you're wondering if you need a pedicure. (The thrusting is still going on.) Now you JUST noticed that your man has about three different colors going on in his facial hair stubble. It's not over, folks. It's not over.

Eventually SOMEONE'S gotta admit it's not gonna happen and call it a day.

(How was that for taking a metaphor and totally torturing it? LOL.)

Posted by: Kathy at February 4, 2008 11:32 PM

Brian (& others) >> Yes - as I say above - she could be one of the "Six," but I am speculating that she is not. I'm betting she manages to dodge the publicity and would rather be presumed dead to avoid going to prison. It's the most logical explanation for her not being in jail when Jack sees her.

That's one of the reasons I said that "Six" is not as much of an ill omen as we might believe; they get at least one free survivor (and probably more) that does not count toward the six.


Matt>> Juliet was not on Flight 815. She arrived at the island via submarine, or at least that is what we were led to believe. But she certainly was not on the flight. She saw it crash from the ground during her Stephen King book club. Hence, she is not one of the "Six."


Kathy>> Yes, great metaphor. Here's hoping that you've had some good sex to go with the not-so-good. :- )

For me at least, Lost gives me an "orgasm" every episode, so I don't know what y'all are talking about.

Posted by: Darth Corleone at February 4, 2008 11:55 PM

Darth: well, I guess some people get off more easily than others. More power to ya!

(Thank God I haven't had sex as bad as the stuff I described since college, so about 1990 or so.)

Posted by: Kathy at February 5, 2008 12:47 AM

i`m feeling darth on this one, LOST is always a fun BOOTY CALL.It`s been missed.!!! Now that it`s back it`s Hotter than ever.thursday night set the bar very high.. the hour felt like 10 fucking minutes...so good.oh yeah

Posted by: PASADENAMIKE at February 5, 2008 1:18 AM

Brian>> Oh, the Wonka "Golden Ticket"...I forgot about that. I haven't rewatched the finale since that night it aired. Did they say that they both had one? If so, then, yeah, you're correct. She is one of the Six.

Posted by: Darth Corleone at February 5, 2008 1:26 AM

Addendum about the Wonka pass:

I just spoke to someone who saw the finale much more recently than I did. He said that Jack says something like: "You know that Golden Pass they gave us?" And then he continues with his monologue about taking a plane ride every weekend. Kate never acknowledges that the Golden Pass is something she received, or at least not by my friend's memory.

If this is the case, "us" could include her, but it also might not include her. "Us" could refer to the Six that does not include her, and given the amount of publicity that we now know the Six receive, she would know exactly what he meant by "us."

I need to watch the scene again to verify this.

Posted by: Darth Corleone at February 5, 2008 1:37 AM

I'm going to sound like an obsessive freak here...

Did anyone notice that Matthew Abbadon is an anagram for What Bad Boat Men?
Also, wikipedia Abbadon if you don't already know what that is.

Also, on a Vantage Point commercial during the Lost episode, Matthew Fox's character had a cell phone that said 000-815 on it. If you go on the Vantage Point website and go to the sweepstakes game they have up there, ignore the game and type in 000-815 where you are supposed to type in the answer of the game, and a bunch of Lost videos will pop up. My sister found it right after the Lost episode aired, and they had a crapload of really cool videos up there, but I checked again a couple days later and there weren't as many, and they were mostly previews of the season rather than the cryptic vids that were up Thursday night... but still worth checking out.


Also, does anyone else think that possibly time moves faster on the island than it does in "real time"... meaning, they have spent 90 (or so?) days on the island, but when they get off they will realize that very little time has passed. I started to think this after Ana Lucia's partner asked Hurley if he had met Ana Lucia in the airport or on the plane, but doesn't ask about the island -- even if the survivors don't talk about all the crazy shit that happened on the island after they are rescued, they have to at least say that they were on an island to begin with, otherwise what were they doing for 90 days? Also, the show makes many references to The Wizard of Oz and Alice in Wonderland, and in both stories the main characters go on grand adventures only to return home and realize that little time has passed.

I'm excited for Michael to show up again this season. Harold Perrineau's name was in the opening credits of 4.01. No Walt, though, unless he is going to be played by a different actor, seeing as though that kid is like 15 now.

Posted by: Stephanie at February 5, 2008 1:55 AM

Also,

**TOTAL SPOILERS FOR FUTURE EPISODES BELOW... even though it is somewhat all speculation**

If we are under the assumption that the next few episodes this season will be flash forwards instead of a flashbacks, judging by the locations in which they filmed this season and the ethnicity of the extras that worked this season, Sayid, Jin and Sun will all get off the island.

Posted by: Stephanie at February 5, 2008 2:26 AM

I lost interest in this mess of a show a few episodes into the second season. It had such potential, but boy did it get old fast!

Posted by: piedlourde at February 5, 2008 3:14 AM

Uhm... fuck this series, fuck it up, its stupid, making it up as they go.... ass.

Posted by: BarbadoSlim at February 5, 2008 3:36 AM

I hear ya, Piedlourde. And DC lost me about 4 paragraphs into his "recap", too.

Posted by: Ian M at February 5, 2008 7:25 AM

Siddhartha, you're probably right about the black smoke monster, as Lindelof has said the monster has been seen more than the audience thinks.

I thought that the Wonka Golden Ticket was a reference too, but I only remember 5 tickets: Charlie Bucket, the fat kid Augustus Gloop, Veruca Salt, Violet who eats the blue gum, and the kid obsessed with TV.

But! If you look on Wikipedia, there is a *gasp* Lost chapter of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory that would have brought the number of golden tickets to six.

And in another interesting coincidence with the mirror matter moon theory, in the sequel book Charlie and his family go into space in Wonka's glass elevator. Damn.

The kid who plays Walt is the same as before, they took him off the Island because he was growing up too fast I believe (and didn't have a way to explain it but now they do).

Posted by: The Stew at February 5, 2008 8:55 AM

Julie - You can watch all three season in HD on abc.com. If you don't mind watch on your computer and forgoing the extras.

Good review and hopefully this shows promise that the show will become as good as it started. The writer's strike better end before the run out of new episodes.

Posted by: Lindsay at February 5, 2008 10:18 AM

Didn't the dude who plays Jin get a DUI recently? (RE: Anna Lucia and the blonde chick). Just sayin...

Posted by: firedmyass at February 5, 2008 12:05 PM

I used to think the same way some of you are, about how Lost is like fucking without ever having an orgasm, but then season 3 happened and I loved it again. While watching the opening scene of the last episodes I actually thought to myself, "Yes! I'm already confused!"

LOVE IT. I just love the way the story is going, and they've filled in a lot of holes. And I do not want to know everything until it's all over. But even then... some mysteries are better off being left to conjecture. It's more fun that way.

Posted by: kayla at February 5, 2008 12:55 PM

The thing with Jack not checking Naomi bothered me, too, until I watched the Season 3 finale again and saw that he DID check her. So... is it possible she was brought back to life by the island? It seems stupid, and kind of pointless since she died in the next episode, but Jack clearly reaches down to check on her, then stands up pretty quickly, so I thought she was obviously dead.

Also, I didn't think Hurley meant anything about being morally wrong for not staying with Jack. I just assumed he was sorry that he lead the group who went with Locke, because, presumably, most of those people are going to die. Bye bye, 20 nameless extras!

Posted by: Jen Diff at February 5, 2008 2:43 PM

This was the first episode I actually watched in season. The first three my son and I watched on DVD, which made the 'fucking without orgasm' thing (which i get) less of an issue, cos at least wtih dvds, if an episode ended on a crazy suspenseful note, we could watch another and get a little more satisfaction out of the ride. if the ep ended all happy and peaceful, then we knew we could go to bed and wait till the next weekend to go back in.

black smoke monster thing/seeing more theory posted above: i think that the smoky haze is a cove for some type of survelience (perhaps maintained by mikhail?). it never seemed 'monsterish' to me. and didn't it try pull someone (locke? charlie? somedumbwit) into a hole in the second season..which clearly indicated a mechanical element perhaps just shrouded in the smokiness.

Posted by: mums at February 5, 2008 4:02 PM

sorry i'm late on this one, but i hadn't watched the ep til yesterday.

re: walt growing up fast...after locke said he was taking orders from walt, he said walt was tall (or taller, i forget). that immediately made me think they are going to have an explanation for why walt looks older (maybe playing into the time travel storyline?)

Posted by: ldini79 at February 14, 2008 4:28 PM

Just wanted to say thanks for the info. I've just finished the 3rd season on DVD and forgot to start recording the newer ones for when I finished, but I've got the 2nd and 3rd episode of season 4 so this is just what I needed to be able to catch up. Cheers.

Posted by: Ames at February 15, 2008 10:52 AM








Recent Reviews









Recent News






business vision articles new vision business opportunities finance vision deposit money vision making art loan vision deposits make vision your home good income vision outcome issue medicine vision drugs market vision money trends self vision roof repairing market vision online secure vision skin tools wedding vision jewellery newspaper vision for magazine geo vision places business vision design Car vision and Jips production vision business ladies vision cosmetics sector sport vision and fat burn vat vision insurance price fitness vision program furniture vision at home which vision insurance firms new vision devoloping technology healthy vision nutrition dress vision up company vision income insurance vision and life dream vision home create vision new business individual vision loan form cooking vision ingredients which vision firms is good choosing vision most efficient business comment vision on goods technology vision business secret vision of business company vision redirects credits vision in business guide vision for business cheap vision insurance tips selling vision abroad protein vision diets improve vision your home security vision importance





Privacy Policy