film / tv / streaming / politics / web / celeb/ industry / video / love / lists / think pieces / misc / about / cbr
film / tv / politics / web / celeb

February 22, 2008 |

By Dustin Rowles | Miscellaneous | February 22, 2008 |

We’re not gonna beat you about the head and face with a lot of pre-Oscar coverage (we’re not really that site), but we will bring you our annual post-Oscar rundown on Monday. In the meantime, for shits and giggles, here’s the staff’s collective, commentary-free wish list of winners for Sunday’s ceremony. Who we want to win is in bold, not who we think will win, a distinction that the TV Whore insisted be made. Where the Academy ultimately disagrees with us is probably where our Monday-morning bitch session will focus.

And, if y’all don’t want to talk about the Oscars until the afternoon’s reviews arrive, who thinks McCain nipped some young booty?

Major awards only:

Lead Actor
George Clooney in Michael Clayton
Daniel Day-Lewis in There Will Be Blood
Johnny Depp in Sweeney Todd The Demon Barber of Fleet Street
Tommy Lee Jones in In the Valley of Elah
Viggo Mortensen in Eastern Promises

Supporting Actor
Casey Affleck in The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
Javier Bardem in No Country for Old Men
Philip Seymour Hoffman in Charlie Wilson’s War
Hal Holbrook in Into the Wild
Tom Wilkinson in Michael Clayton

Lead Actress
Cate Blanchett in Elizabeth: The Golden Age
Julie Christie in Away from Her
Marion Cotillard in La Vie en Rose
Laura Linney in The Savages
Ellen Page in Juno

Supporting Actress
Cate Blanchett in I’m Not There
Ruby Dee in American Gangster
Saoirse Ronan in Atonement
Amy Ryan in Gone Baby Gone (tie)
Tilda Swinton in Michael Clayton (tie)

Best Director
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, Julian Schnabel
Juno, Jason Reitman
Michael Clayton, Tony Gilroy
No Country for Old Men, Joel Coen and Ethan Coen
There Will Be Blood, Paul Thomas Anderson

Adapted Screenplay
Atonement, by Christopher Hampton
Away from Her, by Sarah Polley
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, by Ronald Harwood
No Country for Old Men, by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen
There Will Be Blood, by Paul Thomas Anderson

Original Screenplay
Juno, by Diablo Cody (tie)
Lars and the Real Girl, by Nancy Oliver
Michael Clayton, by Tony Gilroy
Ratatouille, by Brad Bird (tie)
The Savages, by Tamara Jenkins

Best Motion Picture of the Year
Michael Clayton
No Country for Old Men
There Will Be Blood

Pajiba's Oscar-Winner Wish List

Half-Assed Oscar Coverage / The Pajiba Staff

Miscellaneous | February 22, 2008 |

Dustin is the founder and co-owner of Pajiba. You may email him here or follow him on Twitter.

Roman Holiday

Pajiba Love 02/22/08

The Pajiba Store


Privacy Policy